Skip to content

Outreach and Enrollment

Carol Adkins

Carol Adkins
Coordinator of Community Development and Outreach
Email Carol 

Without health insurance, many are unable to access the health care they need.  The Kentucky Primary Care Association (KPCA) is proud of our long partnership with the Kentucky Health Benefit Exchange (KHBE) to help Kentuckians gain access to insurance coverage through the kynect Health Benefit Exchange. By connecting with a kynector, formerly called an Application Assister, Kentucky residents can get free application and enrollment assistance and/or education on options and issues affecting applications for both Medicaid, K-CHIP, or Qualified Health Plans through HealthCare.gov.

Our kynectors will become your best advocate, helping you to identify and to address informational and social need hurdles that might otherwise not be overcome without experienced help. KPCA kynectors link individuals up with resources and go the extra mile to explain complex health coverage information, and are available to help you year-round at no cost.

If you need enrollment assistance, have an upcoming community event where attendees may benefit from free insurance education, are interested in inviting a kynector to speak with your business or at an upcoming community meeting, or if you would like a local kynector to provide an enrollment event during annual Open Enrollment (November 1 – December 15 yearly), please review our KPCA kynector by county list to find someone local to help you in-person or over the phone. We have both regional kynectors available at member clinics in South Eastern Kentucky and Connecting Kids to Coverage kynectors (specializing in helping children and parents) available across Kentucky.

If you have any questions or need additional help connecting with someone in your area, please contact Carol Adkins, KPCA Community Engagement and Outreach Coordinator at 502-545-8812 or visit www.KHBE.ky.gov to find a kynector near you.

Resources

Open Enrollment FAQs

Medicaid Managed Care Organization 2021 Open Enrollment FAQs
1. What are the dates of Open Enrollment? November 2 through December 15, 2020.

2. What is Open Enrollment? Open Enrollment gives Medicaid members in managed care a chance to change their Managed Care Organization (MCO). Medicaid members are not required to participate in Open Enrollment.

3. What MCOs are available?
- Aetna Better Health of Kentucky
- Anthem Medicaid
- Humana Health Horizons
- Passport Health Plan by Molina Healthcare
- United Healthcare Community Health Plan
- WellCare of Kentucky

4. What if I do nothing during Open Enrollment? You will not lose Medicaid coverage if you are still eligible or if you do not participate in Open Enrollment. You will keep the same MCO.

5. How do I enroll with another MCO? Call 1-855-446-1245 or 1-800-635-2570 between 8:00 am and  6:00 pm to talk with a Medicaid Services Representative or online at www.kynect.ky.gov

6. If I change MCOs during Open Enrollment, when will my coverage start with the new MCO? January 1, 2021

7. I had Passport and heard that someone bought them. Will my insurance change? The new name of your insurance is Passport Health Plan by Molina Healthcare. If you want to stay with them, you do not have to do anything. You will get a new card before January 1, 2021. If you would like to
change MCOs, please call 1-855-446-1245 or 1-800-635-2570 between 8:00 am and 6:00 pm to talk with a
Medicaid Services Representative or online at www.kynect.com.

8. I heard that there was a court case around Kentucky Medicaid. Is there something I need to do?
No. You are able to change your MCO during Open Enrollment if you choose. If you want to stay with your current MCO and are still eligible for Medicaid, you do not have to do anything.

9. Where can I go to get information about the MCOs? See the document that displays each MCO’s value-added benefits. You can also visit their websites or call them. See below:

Aetna Better Health of Kentucky 1-855-300-5528   www.aetnabetterhealth.com/kentucky

Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield 1-855-690-7784 www.anthem.com/kymedicaid

Humana Healthy Horizons in Kentucky   1-800-444-9137 www.humana.com/medicaid/kentucky-medicaid

Passport Health Plan by Molina Healthcare 1-844-778-2700 www.PassportHealthPlan.com

UnitedHealthcare Community Plan  1-866-293-1796 www.uhccommunityplan.com/ky

WellCare of Kentucky 1-877-389-9457 www.wellcare.com/Kentucky

10. What if I change my MCO during Open Enrollment and then change my mind? You can change your MCO at any time
during the Open Enrollment period, which is November 2, 2020 to December 15, 2020. You also have 90 days after any
MCO change to choose another MCO.

11. What if I am a foster child? Children in foster care, adoption subsidy, dually committed youth and former foster care
will be part of the new Supporting Kentucky Youth (SKY) program. Aetna is the contracted MCO to serve those
members. Coverage starts on January 1, 2021. Members will be automatically enrolled in Aetna SKY and will receive a
new card.

Bonus Benefits/Services –The following are extra benefits or no cost services the MCOs may provide
kynect Benefits - Quick Reference Guide

KHBE Open Enrollment Resources

KPCA Region 8 Certified Kynectors by County

KPCA Region 8 Certified Kynectors by County

Bell County

Tracey Keene

606-309-7939

tracey.keene@gracehealthky.org

 

Breathitt County

Angela Burns

606-666-9950 ext. 2204

aburns@kypca.net

 

Clay County

Andrew Byrd

606-594-4889

Andrew.byrd@gracehealthky.org

 

Floyd County

Regina Crum

606-587-2200 Office

regcru02082021@bshc.org

 

Harlan County

Tammy Bryant

606-337-3500

tlynnbryant@mtncomp.org

 

Johnson County

Kathi Chitti

606-791-8171 Cell

606-349-5126 Office

k.chitti@bshc.org

 

Knott County

Tammy Weddington

606-216-2117 work cell

tweddington@pccek.com

 

Knox County

Carla Henson

606-309-1462

Carla.henson@gracehealthky.org

 

Laurel County

 Mike Wynn

606-515-8843

Mike.Wynn@gracehealthky.org

 

Lee County

Angela Burns

606-666-9950 ext. 2204

aburns@kypca.net

 

Teresa Herald

606-567-5253

Teresa.herald@juniperhealth.org

 

Leslie County

Amanda Browning

606-216-1753

abrowning@pccek.com

 

Letcher County

Shawn Finn

606-633-4871 ext. 2223

Sfinn01@mtncomp.org

 

Magoffin County

Melinda Mitchell

606-349-5126 Office

606-791-8154 Cell

m.mitchell@bshc.org

 

Martin County

Cara Begley

606-626-6099

c.begley@bshc.org

 

Owsley

Charlie Havicus Johnson

606-593-6395 ext. 5027 

cjohnson@mtncomp.org

 

Perry County

Barbara Calhoun

606-216-6119

bcalhoun@pccek.com

 

Pike County

Georgia Funk

606-637-6377 Office

606-794-4656 Cell

g.funk@bshc.org

 

Whitley County

Kathy Oller

606-595-7626

Kathy.oller@gracehealthky.org

 

Wolfe County

Helen Kay Spencer

606-495-8304

hspencer@kypca.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

KPCA Region 8 Kynectors by County

Bath, Bourbon, Menifee,

Montgomery, Nicholas, Powell

Jennifer Trimble

Sterling Health Care

jtrimble@sterlinghealthky.org

859-585-8002

 

Carroll, Gallatin, Owen

Angie Meither

Triad Health Systems

ameither@triadhealthsystems.com

859-912-5173

 

Caldwell, Daviess, Henderson, Hopkins, McLean, Union, Webster

Tara Tapp Kolodey

Health First Community Health Center

tkolodey@hfchc.net

1-877-667-7017 office

 

Jefferson County

Connie Manley

Shawnee Christian Healthcare Center

connie.manley@shawneehealthcare.org

502-303-6790

 

Fayette County

Michelle Hernandez

HealthFirst Bluegrass Inc.

mihernandez@heatlhfirstlex.com

(859)285-9791

 

KPCA Social Care Platform

Aunt Bertha’s mission is to make human service program information more accessible to those in need in order to help more people reach self-sufficiency. Aunt Bertha picks up where Uncle Sam leaves off by making it easy to find food, health, housing and education programs based on need.

 

 

Enter your zip code below to find offerings in your area!

AB NEw

QuestionPro offers a suite of features and question types - all for free. We now can run unlimited surveys and gather unlimited responses!
Scroll To Top